Committee Against Torture

Name ---
Address Palais des Nations, CH-1211 Genève 10
Phone +41-22-917 12 34

Activity summary:

The Convention against Torture and Other, Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment was adopted on 10 December 1984 by the General Assembly of the United Nations. Consisting of 33 articles, this instrument, which 58 states had ratified or acceded to as of 1 January 1992, entered into force on 26 June 1987.
The Committee against Torture was established pursuant to article 17 of the Convention and began to function on January 1988. The Committee consists of 10 experts of high moral standing and recognised competence in the field of human rights. The experts, who must be nationals of State Parties, are elected by those states by secret ballot.